top of page

Books and Conversations!

It was time for my regular coffee date with friends over the weekend and as usual I was running out of places in my head. I asked around and someone suggested ‘Writer’s café’. I was intrigued by the name and wanted to check it out. I was surprised I had never seen this place before as it is located in the heart of the city. As soon as I entered the first thing that caught my attention was the gigantic book shelf. If you are a book lover like me this is definitely a place you should visit. Books and food is always a combination I can’t resist. The place was filled with chatter and liveliness.

The menu was brought to us by friendly staff members. They made us feel comfortable and engaged us with conversations about the place. Not many know that the café is non profitable. The food is cooked and baked by women who have been subjected to domestic abuse. We were moved and heartfelt when we heard this.

We glanced through the menu and I right away knew what I wanted to order, the lemon honey thyme drink and pickled beetroot lollo nosso salad. I had no idea what lollo nosso was but it sounded interesting enough for me to try it.

The lemon honey thyme drink was perfect! It was soothing and light. The honey was not overpowering and had the right balance of sweet and sour. The thyme made it even better. It added to the flavor making it extremely refreshing.

The pickled beetroot lollo rosso salad was so visually appealing with lots of colours. The salad was topped with bread crumbs and roasted walnuts. It was drizzled with Vinaigrette dressing. Lollo Rosso is a red Italian lettuce( I figured what it was after the salad was brought). The pickled beetroot was flavorsome and boiled to perfection not making it too soft nor crisp. The lettuce was crunchy and fresh. The bread crumbs and roasted walnuts added to the crunchiness making it extra delish!

I had another glance at the menu to check if I could find a healthy version of dessert ( I hoped for too much)instead I ordered another salad- Arugula, Orange Carpaccio with Feta and roasted walnuts. Sounds fantastic doesn’t it?

The salad as expected looked gorgeous! Each bite was bitter sweet. The orange’s sweetness went well with the peppery and slightly bitter leaves. It was drizzled with balsamic vinegar, making it more tasteful. The feta cheese with the crunchy walnuts added extra relish to the dish!

If you’re looking for great books while you eat, this is the place to go to. Don’t expect a quiet and composed atmosphere while you read because this place is always packed!

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page