top of page

Tonic Love!

During my short visits to Bangalore, I make it a point to try out new and exciting restaurants. Each time I visit, I have tonnes of places on my “To Try” list. One such place on my list was ‘Toast and Tonic’ in Richmond Town. My cousins and I were quite eager to try this place out as I heard fantastic reviews. As soon as we walked in, I felt like I was in an Irish village, complete with dim lights, wooden furniture and ceiling. The room was alive and could be mistaken for a noisy pub in any part of Ireland. As the name denotes they are famous for their tonic combinations.

The staff was very courteous and helpful and insisted that we tried their tonics. There was an array of options to choose from. Everything sounded tempting but I froze on trying the flower power tonic. It was a mix of Jasmine tea, Elder flower and Grape fruit. This bitter-sweet tonic was light and refreshing, the hints of Jasmine and elder flower giving it a much needed zing.

For the main course we decided to go healthy and ordered the Stuffed Chicken Roulade, Pan seared Sea Bass with smoked cabbage.

The stuffed Chicken Roulade looked fabulous! The presentation made me want to dig right in. The chicken was wrapped in Turkey Ham, served on a bed of broken wheat and sauteed beans and spicy blueberry jus. The chicken was light and juicy. The turkey ham added an immense flavour to the already delicious chicken making it mouth-watering! The broken wheat was perfectly cooked and went well with the chicken and turkey. The jus which was a little sweet and spicy took the dish to another level all together making it absolutely smacking!

The Pan Seared Sea Bass was another good-looking dish. It was served on a pan with foxtail millet, confit potatoes, Raw mango and Asparagus. In spite of disliking sea food, I gave this one a try because the dish looked absolutely appetizing and tempting. The sea bass was cooked to perfection. It was buttery and soft. I have never had fox tail and kodo millet before and was very intrigued by how it would taste. It tasted a little like beans and added flavour to the fish. The potatoes were soft and peppery and not over done. The raw mango and asparagus added a little crunchiness and zing to the dish. It was a treat to the taste buds with all the interesting flavours in every bite.

The portions were just perfect not making us feel stuffed. We were content at the end of our meal. The desserts sounded fantastic and knew we would not be disappointed but since we were going healthy, we decided to skip it.

In case you are looking for a healthy breakfast, this place has a vast variety of options to choose from. From smoothies to protein shakes to eggs to wholesome wheat sandwiches to oats pancakes- they’ve got it at all.

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page