top of page

Real Asian Flavors!

This week, I decided to spend my cheat day devouring some good Asian food. With a whole bunch of new asian restaurants cropping up in Chennai, it was hard to make a choice but we finally decided on Nasi and Mee on the bustling Khader Nawaz Khan road. As soon as we walked through their doors, we were greeted with a vibrant, happy vibe. I’m a sucker for open kitchens and their’s was a sure delight! Teamed with colourful lampshades and wooden furniture, it gave out the friendly but stylish vibe that I’m really fond of.

While choosing appetizers at an Asian restaurant, I’m always the most attracted to lotus stem. So as tradition goes, we ordered the honey chilli lotus stem. Golden brown texture, that right amount of crunch, these stems were really well done. Have you ever had that right combination of sweet and spice (and everything nice)? This was that.

Our choice for main course was pretty straightforward. We went for the chef recommendation- N &M’s Nasi Goreng and Pad Thai. If you aren’t familiar, Nasi Goreng is a Malaysian fried rice that is served with a variety of accompaniments. Ours were accompanied by cucumber, keropok and grilled corn which made the best side kicks to this already wonderful dish. Keropok (more fancy names!) are the delectable prawn crackers that added to the texture of the dish.

Next on to the Pad Thai. The go-to thai item that you pick when you’re confused. Soft noodles topped with sugar, crushed peanuts and chilli flakes- a play with textures. Though it was quite delicious, it didn’t do anything extraordinary for me or my friends.

A meal is incomplete without ending on a sweet note. My choice for dessert was predictable. I can never say no to chocolate and banana. The minute my eyes fell on the chocolate banana rolls (my favourite combination) I decided to order it blindly. The rolls were crispy filled with generous amounts of banana. The rolls were topped with gooey chocolate sauce. The combination of warm banana and chocolate spring rolls with cold ice cream is absolutely scrummy!

All in all, Nasi and Mee is great for an afternoon lunch when you’re craving some Asian food at the city center.

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page